LSE is progressing its campus redevelopment programme that has included several new buildings in recent years including the Centre Building, and the Marshall Building.
Located on the road on the south of the Fields, the site is within the Strand Conservation Area and in the local authority jurisdiction of Westminster City Council.
It has been concluded by LSE and its architectural advisors that there are two possible strategies for redeveloping 35 LIF. One suggests retaining part of the core structure of the building to save on embodied carbon. The second envisages demolition to street level while preserving most of the basement areas.
London’s largest and most historic garden square, Lincoln’s Inn Fields has a rich and varied history. In 1683 it was the site of the public beheading of Lord William Russell, son of the First Duke of Bedford, for his part in a plot to assassinate King Charles II. The attractive square comes complete with tennis courts, a netball court, a café, historic monuments and a bandstand. It is owned and managed by the London Borough of Camden. Lincoln’s Inn Fields was first made a public square in 1894 and has become an iconic open space in the busy heart of London. It is protected by an Act of Parliament which seeks to preserve the distinctive character of the Fields.