Pre-Qualification Questionnaire

Phase 1a

PQQ's should be sent via email to by no later than 14:00 on Thursday 26 July 2018.

The file should be named as follows:
‘Practice Name_PQQ.pdf’

Entries received after the deadline will not be accepted.


PQQ .doc PQQ Guide .pdf

PQQ.doc updated on 10 July 2018

Animal Centres of the Future

Open Design Competition

The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) is seeking design concepts from architect led teams based in the United Kingdom for its Animal Centres of the future. The proposed designs will need to provide the necessary environment for the animals that are in their care, as well as providing facilities to support staff, the public and the societies prevention engagement activities within the community.

The proposed design will be adopted at a new centre which is planned in the North of England as well as being adopted for future site builds and, in the upgrade, and refurbishment of their existing centres, the blueprint for the future.

The Client

The Society was founded in 1824 as the SPCA and in 1837 and Queen Victoria gave permission to add the royal R in 1840, creating the RSPCA as they're known worldwide today. Every day, with the help of RSPCA staff, volunteers and generous supporters, they take steps to achieve their mission.

All RSPCA branches are currently constituted as charitable unincorporated associations operating in accordance with the Branch rules approved by Council.

Through campaigns the RSPCA raises standards of care and awareness of issues and relies on public support to help us push for law changes and improving the welfare of animals on farms, in labs, the wild, paddocks and homes.


More information on the RSPCA can be found here:

Competition Phases

The selection process is being managed by RIBA Competitions and will be held in two phases:

Submissions of a completed Pre-Qualification Questionnaire (PQQ) – only teams with compliant PQQ's will be invited to proceed to Phase 1b.
Concept designs which will be submitted anonymously to be assessed by the evaluation panel.
A shortlist of five designs will be selected and the authors invited to develop their initial concepts and submit and present them to the evaluation panel.