Winner revealed

Grafton Architects

Dublin based practice Grafton Architects have been selected as the winners of the competition to design 44 Lincoln's Inn fields/the Paul Marshall Building, the next major building project of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE).

We had an extremely strong field of submissions to choose from but I'm pleased to announce Grafton Architects as the winner of our 44 LIF/The Paul Marshall Building design competition. Their creative design is formal but also fun, and I have no doubt will further enhance LSE's status as a university with an estate that matches its global academic reputation.

Professor Craig Calhoun, Director and President of LSE

The Jury Panel was eight strong including Jane Duncan, President of the RIBA, and Paul Marshall. Paul Marshall is a major benefactor of LSE, having recently contributed £30m – the School's largest private philanthropic donation – for the creation of the Marshall Institute for Philanthropy and Social Entrepreneurship and towards the redevelopment of 44 Lincoln's Inn Fields, which was purchased by LSE in 2013 from Cancer Research UK. The new building will house the academic departments of Accounting, Finance and Management and research centres, including the Marshall Institute with teaching facilities as well as new multipurpose sports and arts facilities.

We believe Grafton's design has the potential to provide LSE with a distinctive and seminal piece of university architecture, which expresses the values and aspirations of the School. Combining modernity and tradition we felt it would enhance Lincoln's inn Fields and connect well with the rest of LSE. It's an inspiring design and I look forward to working with Grafton and their team to deliver it.

Julian Robinson, Director of Estates

Competition Contact

The competition is being administered by RIBA Competitions, to whom any enquiries relating to the general conditions of this competition should be addressed.


    0113 203 1490

Copyright © Royal Institute of British Architects 2015